1. What is metacognition?

(a) Discuss how the following beliefs deter learning.
(b) Describe beliefs that contrast with each
and how such can enhance learning:

  • Learning is fast
  • Knowledge is composed of isolated facts
  • Intelligence is an inborn trait
  • “I’m really good at multi-tasking”

Learning is unique. How we perceive things varies – what’s easy for you may not be easy for me and what’s easy for me may not be easy for you. The above statements deter to learning because it attacks a person’s perception on learning. As adults we are somehow capable of filtering what’s real and what’s not – I can only imagine my spirit being crushed if I heard this in primary school. Learning is not fast! I remember the first time I introduced mixed fractions in a group of grade 4 students – even the brightest kid in the entire grade level was overwhelmed! No matter how I break it down the first week, they just can’t get it. After a few more weeks I observed great improvement.

Knowledge is NOT composed of isolated facts. Take for example in Math. For a student to understand a new concept, for example multiplication, the student should have a strong understanding of his basic math skill – in this case, addition. I believe that knowledge is like a pyramid (I know this is cheesy) each step leads you to the top.

Intelligence is NOT an inborn trait. Take for example, Albert Einstein. He wasn’t brilliant in his younger years. He did not begin speaking until after age two.

While some are good at multi-tasking, I personally can’t study and listen to music at the same time. I don’t think this is a general thing – again what works for you may not work for me and vice versa.

 2. What is self-regulation? 

Why is self-regulation (critically) important in distance education?

[i] Self-regulated learning (SRL) refers to some rather specific ways that learners take control of their own learning. Schunk and Zimmerman (1998) define SRL as:

“learning that occurs largely from the influence of students’ self-generated thoughts, feelings, strategies, and behaviors, which are oriented toward the attainment of goals”

I think self-regulation is important in distance education since the nature of the lesson is self taught. Especially if the course/subject is knew to you – take for example me, Education is not my first course in college. Most of the vocabulary used  in PTC is foreign to me – my job is to learn the language and self check if I did understand the  module.

I came across a publication on “Encouraging Self-regulated learning in the classroom: A review of the Literature”  and found very beneficial in class setting. You can read the publication here: http://merc.soe.vcu.edu/Reports/Self%20Regulated%20Learning.pdf

3. How shall I study to optimize learning in this course?

My biggest problem is time management. By the time I get home from work – I’m dead tired. I think the best way to optimize learning in this course is to manage my schedule and allot time to read not only the module but also other resources.

4. In what ways will keeping a learning journal help me learn better?

How I wish I have more time doing journals. Looking back, I think reflecting on the different theories would greatly help me understand my students more. I remember reading the module and going “oh yeah, this applies to this student… I did notice this theory is applicable to…”

